beat of my heart: #HUGOT Playlist

In almost all of my The Sunday Currently volumes, I have mentioned listening to my Spotify music library. Well, I’ve been a fan of Spotify lately. I only listen to the songs on my phone whenever I’m out of the house since I am not a premium user.

I listen to songs depending on my mood. I’m a type of person that’s very particular with her playlist. During the times I feel sad or heartbroken, I tend to add more insult to the injury by listening to songs that sound like how I’m feeling. To lessen the hassle of skipping or choosing songs, I decided to create a playlist for it.

And poof! My #HUGOT playlist was born. Most Filipinos already know what that means, but for those who don’t, it refers to something that will tug on your heartstrings in either a good or bad way. In my playlist’s case, I only included songs that are heartbreaking and sad. See how I am such a masochist? Well, I don’t know, listening to upbeat or happy songs doesn’t feel right whenever I’m feeling otherwise.

My playlist consists of both international songs and OPM. I made it with the idea of a mixtape in mind. You know, I could give it to a person then the lyrics will give out all the words I couldn’t find to say.

 

All of those songs relate to me somehow, whether in a big or small aspect, although there are a few songs I just included in the playlist because their sad vibes are damn contagious. Presently speaking, I have 61 songs in my playlist. I started compiling the songs July this year, and I’m still yet to add if ever I encounter more #hugot-worthy songs.

Anyway, I’ve chosen 5 songs from my playlist that are fit for certain heartbreaking moments we have in our lives.

1 | Jesse McCartney’s Just So You Know

Perfect song for: Feeling things that you are not supposed to feel.

Lyrics from the song: “I shouldn’t love you but I want to, I just can’t turn away…” “And I don’t know how to be fine when I’m not, ’cause I don’t know how to make a feeling stop.”

2 | Tori Kelly’s All In My Head

Perfect song for: Getting confused about the mixed signals your crush was giving you before.

Lyrics from the song:  “Time for me to move on now, it was probably just a silly crush anyway. But I just can’t help but think that we, we could’ve had something. Have I really been blind to reality?”

3 | Neocolours’ Say You’ll Never Go

Perfect song for: Telling your special someone not to leave you or the relationship because things just wouldn’t be the same. (Those who watch OTWOL are very familiar with this song. Hehehe.)

Lyrics from the song: “I cannot live out on my own and just forget the love you’ve always shown and accept the fate of my condition. Please don’t ever go for I cannot live my life alone.”

4 | Ariana Grande and Nathan Sykes’ Almost Is Never Enough

Perfect song for: Almost relationships. Or relationships that didn’t develop because of complications or wrong circumstances.

Lyrics from the song: “I’d like to say we gave it a try, I’d like to blame it all on life.” “So close to being in love, if I would have known that you wanted me the way I wanted you.”

5 | Selena Gomez’s The Heart Wants What It Wants

Perfect song for: Still yearning for someone you know isn’t good for you because he will just end up breaking your heart.

Lyrics from the song: “The bed’s getting cold and you’re not here. The future that we hold is so unclear, but I’m not alive until you call and I’ll bet the odds against it all.”

Feel free to check out the other songs in my playlist. Hope you guys like it! How about you guys, what are the songs you listen to while going through heartbreak? Share them below, I might add them to my #HUGOT playlist too! Hihi. ❤

Leave a comment